Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Please help, I am losing hope!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by superfly, Nov 19, 2004.

1. superfly

superfly

Aug 4, 2004
    I need help. I am looking for a combo setup. It has to be a combo because I need the portablity. I am a former drummer who knows the hassles of carrying around and setting up loads of gear. I don't want the hassle anymore. I am still a student bassist, but I plan to be playing at my small-med sized Church within 6 months.

I have bought and returned the following..

Fender Rumble 100- ok sound, don't like the funky red lights, seems like a cheap build quality.

Ibanez SW amp, yuckkkk, rattles

SWR wm 15 (new model) - just doesn't cut it. Cheap Fender build quaility, and rattley chassis.

(2) Ampeg B100R- farts out too easy, 1 of them had a rattle in the face plate.

All of these were NEW just out of the box.
    I can't believe the poor workmanship and the lousy way these combos are put together.
    Am I being too picky? I can't stand it when you pluck a string, and the amp cab rattles or buzzes. I've tried a few seperate amp cab seperates, but I don't want the hassle of more gear. I need portability, but something that is built well. I probably need to spend more $$ ?
    The problem with trying other brands like Yorkville or Ashdown is I can't seem to find anyone who has one on their showroom. I really don't want to mail order without trying one. I live in So California if anyone has some suggestions, or knows where I can find something. :)

2. Mud Flaps

Mud Flaps

Feb 3, 2003
    Norton, MA
    In my opinion, the Ampeg B100R is the best combo amplifier in the market. I've never had one "fart out" and I run my Lakland with really hot Barts through it.