Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Please help me choose a MAC

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by X Wolf, Mar 7, 2006.

1. X Wolf

X Wolf Guest

I have an ancient Gateway 650 and I have been running Windows 98SE for the last six years! I'm about to make the leap to a Mac and I've got it narrowed down to either

1) The iMac 20" with the new Intel Core Duo chip or...

2) The Mac-Mini 1.66 Ghz with the new Intel chip and a separate Apple 20" Cinema monitor.

Can any of you Mac fans tell me which one I should get and why? I would really appreciate the input. I plan to get the 1 Gig memory upgrade either way because I like to use Photoshop.

Thanks,

George

2. 43% burnt

43% burnt an actor who wants to run the whole show

May 4, 2004
    Bridgeport, CT
    I'd go for the 20" iMac...Heres why:

Faster processors
    Bigger HD (3x bigger), and more space for upgrades Mini can only have a 120gig HD max
    Better graphics card
    Built in iSight camera
    20" Cinema Display built in (which is absolutely stunning BTW)

I'd go for the iMac because you get a faster machine with a bigger HD for only $100 more.

On the other hand, If you buy the Cinema Display you can easily upgrade your machine without sacrificing the display.

3. iMac all the way. I have the PPC version with iSight. Like others said, more expansion capability.

4. 43% burnt

May 4, 2004
    Bridgeport, CT
    http://www.123macmini.com/

There's a whole community for Mini users.

Your post has got me thinking. I'm well overdue for a new home machine, but given all these new developments with Apple lately- I've been holding out to see how the intel chip transition develops. I'm now thinking I might go with a mini and the 20" Cinema Display for home. That way I can easily upgrade the machine in a couple years if I want without sacrificing the display.