1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Please help me understand the multiple bass thing

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Jarrett, Apr 23, 2010.

1. Jarrett

Jarrett

Jan 19, 2004
    Waxahachie, Tx
    About me, I've been playing bass for 20 years now. Played in a touring pro band for about 8 years, played in some jazz ensembles in college, five years playing in worship bands, many sit in gigs throughout the years, recorded on a dozen albums or so. Nothing major, but I've played my fair share I think.

Through that time I've had usually two basses at any given time. Always my main 5-string and usually another 4 or 5-string for backup. Nothing too drastically different really. In all those years, the basses I've had at the time have worked for the gig I had. I never really felt the need to have a specialized bass for a specific gig.

That said, I see lots of players saying things like:

For this gig, I have a '65 P-bass with flat wounds and for this gig I have a J-bass with nickels and this other gig I have a 5-string Singlecut strung E to C and this other gig I have a 7-string with stainless and piezo pickups, etc.

I've never fully understood this. Can you help me understand the reasoning, need, desire, even requirement for having multiple specialized instruments like that? Are there literally times where a band will dictate your gear? Or is this generally a preference issue?

2. SanDiegoHarry

SanDiegoHarry Banned Supporting Member

Aug 11, 2008
    San Diego, CA
    I agree completely. I think the more you play out, the less gear you really need.