1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Please help me with what to buy

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by MrsNinaAllen, Oct 20, 2013.

1. MrsNinaAllen

MrsNinaAllen

Oct 20, 2013
    Hi all
    Ive today joined this forum as I need some expert help please.
    I am purchasing a bass guitar for my husband for Christmas and I have no idea what to get.

This is what he will do with it:
    • Learn to play as a total beginner
    • Play reggae music (only)
    • Play in studio setting to record with Protools (no live performance or band...yet)

What do I need to get for him eg what make of guitar, strings, amp, connection to pro-tools etc? I would be so grateful for any advise. And please Im a total novice so keep that in mind as Im guessing there is a lot of "bass jargon and lingo" that I wont be familiar with.

Kindest regards
    Nina

2. grisezd

grisezd

Oct 14, 2009
    Ohio
    That's a lovely thing to do for him. A little more info might help.

Where are you, does he currently play anything at all, and what's your budget?

3. conebone

conebone Anime is rad.

Sep 20, 2013
    New Jersey
    This is really nice, I'm sure he's gonna love this.

Alright, as far as my knowledge of reggae goes, you should probably go with a Fender Jazz Bass. They have a classic sound, and if he is a beginner, this is a quality bass for him to help develop his sound. Maybe try out the Fender Jazz Bass MIJ.

Just as a side note, there are always a few of these floating around in the Classified page of Talk Bass, so if you wanted to get one here, you could do that as well, just another option.