1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Please Help! My strap screws keep stripping!

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Rei, Apr 4, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Rei

Rei

Apr 4, 2017
    So I'm new to TB, although Ive gotten countless invaluable advice from this forum, but I recently came across an issue that I can't seem to find any info on.

I own Fender USA Jazz Standard, and about month after receiving the bass, the strap screws stripped. I also use schaller strap locks, with the original fender screw. I am kinda an OCD freak, so I constantly check the screws and tighten them if need be (I NEVER over tighten) but somehow the darn things managed to strip. So I repaired them by using bamboo dowels and quality wood glue (correctly measured, cured for 24 hours, and properly drilled) and things were fine for a while, but only a few weeks later they both stripped AGAIN! So now I'm wondering what I can do, because the whole process is super frustrating, especially since I gig every weekend. Any advice is much appreciated! Thanks

2. lz4005

lz4005

Oct 22, 2013
    You're stripping them by overtightening.

You think you aren't, but you've done it 4 times now.

Drill out the bamboo. Glue in a wood dowel and reinstall the strap button with a longer screw. Put some glue on the threads when you do.

Then don't ever touch that screw again unless the button feels loose. Do not tighten it any more.

JLS, gebass6, Kustom_Thunder and 3 others like this.
  3. dannylectro

dannylectro Supporting Member

Aug 2, 2010
    Yonkers, NY
    ^^^ That.

Clark Dark likes this.
  4. sissy kathy

sissy kathy Back to Bass-ics Gold Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2014
    Halethorpe, MD
    What Iz4005 said. Welcome to TalkBass.

5. Badwater

Badwater

Jan 12, 2017