1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Please help with Intonation

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Hardbassjunkie, Dec 9, 2019.

1. Good morning everyone,

I am fairly new to doing my own set ups and I am trying to set up my Squier Jaguar Short scale bass. I was pretty proud of my self because I straighten the neck and got my action to a good level. I intonated each string but the E string is giving me problems. The first 4 frets are sharp(backwards on the tuner) and no matter what I do it doesn't help. I screwed the bridge forward almost all the way and backwards almost all the way and no difference. I can get it to a point where the 12th fret matches the E but no luck on 1-4 and few other frets.

Any one have any suggestions?

I realized that I was supposed to loosen the string before adjust the intonation but I haven't been. Will there be any consequences for that?

When i adjust one string do the others need to be adjusted as well?

2. Samatza

Samatza

Apr 15, 2019
    If the other strings are good no need to touch them.
    Loosen off the string to make the adjustment, you should see the saddle move forward or back, generally the thicker strings require the saddle further back.
    Get it right at the 12th fret, if the first four frets are marginally out you probably won’t hear the difference.
    This can also be caused by the nut being cut to high, as you depress the string it stretches to reach the fret, if you don’t understand this get some help from a tech.
    It’s good that you’re learning to set up your own bass, be patient and make small adjustments.
    I’ve never measured the nut height but if you depress the string between 2nd and 3rd fret it should have only a little clearance at the 1st. Check this against the good strings and see if there is a marked difference.