Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Luis Fabara, Nov 15, 2001.

1. Luis Fabara

Luis Fabara

Aug 13, 2000
    Ecuador (South America)
    Audio Pro - Ecuador
    Sorry to bring this one up...

I have a Streamer LX 6 String and want to put a Basslines system in there if the Upgrade really makes a difference. I feel the MEC Pickups are fine but the Preamp really muddies up the tone when using the bass knob (100Hz it got to sound muddy) and gets harsh witht the highs (2Khz too low for highs it brings up too much high-midrange wich adds presence for fingerstyle but harshness for slap)

I have experience with Bartolini preamps and like them, but I want this bass to be fully active and different. I Have no experience with the STC3A Tone control.
    Also planning on using a Fishman Voltage doubler with it to have the 18 Volt Arrangement with 1 battery on that small electronic compartment.

How is the tone shaping of it?
    How do the Phase I´s perform compared to the MEC Gold that come in the streamer.

I would apreciate any help you can give me on the matter.

On the other hand, I could go the Passive/Active route and have Series/parallel single coil for each Bart Pickup and have Bart Preamp in there, but I dont think that is what I want for this bass.

Would like your suggestions.
  2. top028

Dec 14, 1999
    Lancaster, PA
    I could get up off my lazy ass and find the catalog for basslines to be really specific about it, but the preamp from the specs. sounds great. it has a super low freq. boost I think its around 40 hz, and all the Q's look decent, (the Q is the amount of the dropoff slope for each different band) I Think the bass and trebble are shelving and at decent frequencies. I was going to buy one for my next bass that I am building- a singray with a jazz body.
  3. geshel

Oct 2, 2001