Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Please Help

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by los3r, Jan 1, 2002.

1. los3r

los3r Guest

Jan 1, 2002
    USA, Kentucky
    I just started playing bass so far I love it. I jsut have a couple questions..If anyone would be kidn enough to answer i would love it....

1.) I cant seem to get down were exactly to place my left hand thumb.

2.)Tuning not quite sure how..:confused:

3.) Would you recommend learning easy tabs first like Nirvana such and such,, or harder stuff?.

2. First of all, welcome to TB. Glad to have another low ender.:)

As for your questions, here's my take:

1) Keep your thumb on the back of the neck. This will give you more mobility with your fretting hand and better technique. Learn this now while you're starting out. I let myself wrap my thumb around the top of the neck when I started and am having hell trying to break the habit now.

2) If you can't get your hands on a tuner, find somewhere to get a reference note and go from there. There's a free chromatic tuner you can download at playpro.com, or I'm sure you can find websites to give you an A tone to tune your A string to. After that, fret the E string at the 5th fret and tune it to match the A string. Do this for all of the strings (5th fret of the lower sounding string should be the same as the next higher string played open).

3) I'd suggest going for something harder, like learning notation. Standard Notation has a lot more information to offer than any tab can convey. If all you're interested in is learning to play a few songs, then by all means, tab away. There's nothing wrong with that. But if you want to develop all the musical tools you can, work on the notation. Finding a good teacher will help you with your playing no matter which way you go.