Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Please rate my lesson plan

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Tehdouglas, Feb 27, 2006.

1. Tehdouglas

Tehdouglas

Feb 10, 2006
    NH
    Well I've been playing Bass for a little over 2 months now and I do believe I've come a far way, however I think I need to start getting organized in my practice methods. Unfourtunetly, I won't be able to get a teacher until around June, so I would appreciate if you could give me some opinions/add to this lesson plan. I currently do not have a job and I'm a Junior in highschool, so I have quite a few hours of free time afterschool (homework only takes me like two hours usually so I have plenty of time to practice). I'm dedicated to playing but I just feel like I need to have some instructions to get better. So heres what I have:

1) Four finger accuracy (~20minutes w/ metronome)
    This is a lesson I picked up off of activebass that is a sequence of exercises where you play the notes in a series and change it each time. Its kind of hard to explain, so just think of it as time spent on accuracy and concentrating on playing with as little tension as possible (something I need to work on).

2) Learning the neck (20-30minutes w/ metronome)
    Playing various patterns while naming the note played. I want to know what every note is on the fretboard. I know a good deal already however I hope with this practice I will be able to find notes as easy as possible.

3) Theory Application (No real time, ~30 minutes maybe?)
    This is spent learning and applying musical theory to the bass. I have done some studying on such things as the theory I found on this website however this time is spent appyling it to the bass and getting a full knowledge of it all. This is also spent reading Musical intonation.

4) Scales + Accuracy (~30minutes w/ metronome or Drumb Beat)