1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. Welcome Back!  Please see this thread for more info about the site outage.  Thank you for your patience as we work out bugs and tweak server configs.

Pleasure - Joyous: harmonic analysis

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Quatrix, Mar 23, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Quatrix

Quatrix

Mar 23, 2017
    UK
    I've been trying to work out the bass to the song Joyous by Pleasure and there is one part that I think I've transcribed correctly, but I can't work out what is going on harmonically. It sounds great, but it seems to me that the bass is outlining Abmaj7, while the guitar is playing Bb. I wondered if anyone could cast some light on why this works from a theory perspective. It may be that I've just messed up either what the bass or guitar are doing as I'm no expert.

My attempt at transcription is below and that part starts at 1m48s in the song. The figure I'm talking about is outlined in red.

Any guidance would be much appreciated.

Pleasure_Joyous.jpg

2. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    I'll have to look at it later when I have more time. This is just a hit and run post to say WELCOME TO TALKBASS!!!!

3. Quatrix

Quatrix

Mar 23, 2017
    UK
    Thanks for the welcome. Can anyone help with my query?

4. inanimate_carb

inanimate_carb

Aug 11, 2016