Plexiglass Bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Paul A, Jun 9, 2003.

1. Paul A

Paul A

Dec 13, 1999
    Hertfordshire U.K!
    A friend of mine, who used to make paperweights etc as a sideline has given me 2 gallons of water clear acrylic casting resin.
    Now..... if I get an old p bass body, make a mould from it ......
    What do you think? would it work?
  2. NV43345

Apr 1, 2003
    I dont know about that stuff, but I saw a Robert Plant special on MTV and his bass player had a plexi P-Bass, looked very cool.Try e-mailing a freind of mine he owns a plexi company, his name is dave at :
    he may know, he makes these plexi cases. [​IMG]
  3. By-Tor

Apr 13, 2000
    Sacramento, CA
    I'm no expert but I figure if you could make a mold for the body you should be able to do it. Sounds like your friend is an expert though.
    I think it would be pretty cool, especially if you could inject some dye into it some how so it has a transparent color.

Also search the web, there's probably some kind of forum out there for this type of stuff.

If you decide to do it, keep us updated.
  4. ZonPlyr

Apr 29, 2003
    Pasadena, CA
  5. pilotjones

pilotjones Supporting Member

Nov 8, 2001
    The Ampeg Dan Armstrong model was acrylic-bodied.

If you want to try one, you may want to consider:
    acrylic weight thread

Don't know whether Steve went through with it. You may want to ask him.

There's at least one company that regularly makes acrylic guitars.
  6. i remember going into a pawn shop in reno about fifteen years ago and seeing three or four plexi instruments... they're out there... someone needed to pay off his bad bets.
  7. Killdar

Dec 16, 2002
    Portland Maine
  8. Fuzzbass

Fuzzbass P5 with overdrive Supporting Member

My brother (guitarist/bandmate) owns a "Plexicaster", a non-Fender plexi Strat. It's painfully heavy... I have never seen him gig with it.