Plucking finger position

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Craig Williams, Oct 14, 2021.

1. Craig Williams

Craig Williams

Feb 13, 2019
    Part time bass player, mainly a guitarist. I got myself a 90's Fender Boner bass, Precision Plus. Really love everything about the bass but I find if I don't pick the strings (open fingers) down near the bridge, I get a lot of fret buzz. Admittedly I do have the action set fairly low and this is how I like it but I hate fret buzz. If I pluck the strings up towards the neck, obviously there must be a lot more string wobble, for want of a better word. As I said I'm only a rookie. Is this a normal thing? I see a lot of guys these days with what looks like a velcro strap up behind the nut. Is that to reduce buzz or harmonics or ?

BTW Sting is one of my favorite bass players. Not sure how technically good he is but I love his sound and feel. I am interested in the way he plays with his thumb down near the back of the bridge.

2. 96tbird

96tbird PLEASE STAND BY

Loosen your truss rod an eighth of a turn. Test. Check action. Repeat as necessary.

There’s more to it than that to get a good setup, but if you have a pretty good setup to start, when you need a bit more breathing room for the string to swing, add relief by loosening the truss rod.

As seasons change, it is common to adjust only the truss rod to tweak the neck relief. Seasons change and the humidity with them and that affects the neck wood.

3. Mushroo

Mushroo

Apr 2, 2007
    Plucking position is how we control our tone on the bass. Plucking near the bridge sounds different than plucking near the neck. If you prefer the sound of plucking near the bridge, then that is 100% permissible and okay. You have my blessing to pluck near the bridge if you want to pluck near the bridge. :)

cnltb and dbsfgyd1 like this.
  4. Craig Williams

Craig Williams

Feb 13, 2019