1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Polishing Frets

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by bigbassman75, Mar 9, 2013.

1. bigbassman75

bigbassman75

Sep 25, 2011
    I was wondering if anyone knows a product or way to polish up your frets?

I have been playing My P Bass for almost 10 years now and just noticed yesterday the frets are forming a black goop on them past the 12 fret. The goop is easily scrapped off but the frets have lost their brass shine. They look very lackluster compared to my new Jazz Bass.

Is their any techniques or products out there i can use to restore them to their natural shine?

2. HaMMerHeD

HaMMerHeD

May 20, 2005
    Norman, OK, USA
  3. daveman50

daveman50 Supporting Member

Feb 24, 2007
    Westchester County NY
    #0000 steel wool. Just make sure you tape off the area around the pickups - you don't want the little bits of steel wool gettin' in there - and clean up real well right away. You can tape off the fingerboard as well (use two strips of painter's tape and just reuse them, moving from fret to fret).

4. Liam76

Liam76

Dec 28, 2012
    I got ambitious one day and polished the jumbo frets on my 5-string. I did like above and taped off the wood, used 0000 steel wool and polished with 3M rubbing compound with some mild buffing.

5. Mtnman

Mtnman

Jun 5, 2012
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I use a Dremel with a little felt polishing wheel with some polishing compound on my frets. They come out gleaming like the sun. Also, like was already stated, make sure you tape off the fretboard. I use the blue masking tape that doesn't leave glue residue behind.