Polytone Pickup

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by chris4001asat, Dec 16, 2002.

1. chris4001asat

Dec 16, 2002
    Toledo, Ohio
    Warehouse Manager : Reverend Guitars
    After years of dreaming about it, I finally purchased an upright. Got a great deal ( I think) on a Knilling. I'm trying to stay with my local mom and pop store for a pickup. The only one they recomended was a polytone. They admitted have very little knowledge on the subject however. Anyone have any thoughts on the subject? I'd be using an SWR Super Redhead for an amp. Thanks for any and all help!!!
  2. Up until his passing, Ray Brown used a Polytone Pickup.
  3. erik II

erik II

Jul 11, 2000
    Oslo, Norway
    Is that the huge square thingie? I have no experience with it, but I think it has been mentioned here. Try a search.

Congrats on the bass, BTW :D
  4. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    This is true. He also got a kind of nasty "Fishmanlike" tone out of it the last two times I saw him. Up close to the stage, you could hear his bass pretty high in the mix, but further back all you got was the line out from his amp. I won't pretend to provide any objective opinion, but to this listener, that's one raunchy sounding pickup.
  5. I was fortunate to be able to be front row center to 6 performances in Vail Colorado at the Jazz Festival a couple of years ago. What I heard was definately not "Fishmanlike". What I heard was the same sound that I hear on most of my Ray Brown Trio CD's and records. I have to wonder if it wasn't the "mix" rather than the pickup that was the problem when you heard him.

BTW - we are talking about the present day Polytone not the old brass cylinder pickups from the 60's.
  6. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    Right. This was the one with the little box attached to the f-hole.