poor jazz tone???and no bounce

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by merrill_chris, Nov 28, 2000.

1. merrill_chris

Nov 23, 2000
    I just dont understand this?? Im a student at the University of North Texas and there are tons of bass players here.(around 60) The majority of these players have really low action and crank there amplifier, resulting in the worst tone ever.
    My roomates, (both drummers) have delt with this tone and together we have named it: NTBTS North Texas Bass Tone Syndrome It sounds like a cat meowing in a cry for help.
    Does anyone know why this is happening so much?? I know that with low action its much easier to play fast 8th notes and all of that, but come on!!!

Maybe im just come from the perspective that having great tone is much more important than playing real fast?? Who knows.

I have thought about this a lot and realized that recordings from the 50's and earlier have something that records from the 60's to present dont have. The bass swings so hard that it sounds like it is almost bouncing? Let me know if you know what im talking about. In the sixties the amplifier was introduced, and suddenly **** the bouncing stopped*** Imagine that!!! Perhaps these to occurances are related. who knows???

let me know what you think

2. That's happenning so much because they can't play and they don't want to learn how to play. Those cats in the '40's and '50's with their high action gut strings are proof you don't need low action to play fast. If you want to learn how to play, play a few gigs with no amplification. That will do wonders for your tone and technique.

I wonder how many of those guys at your school started out on electric bass.

Another development in the '60's was steel strings. Those