Poor man's AJ rig....

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Yamarc, Oct 5, 2004.

1. Yamarc

Yamarc Supporting Member

Jun 25, 2002
    Northville, MI
    I love anthony's sound. I know there are many, many factors that play into his tone, but I want to focus on his rig. I have seen many posts concerning his gear and, in the end, I just can't afford the same stuff. So, let's post about some great (cheaper) alternatives for a great audiophile sound.

***Let me say- I know it won't be the same as I don't have his bass, his hands, or his ears and neither does anyone else. However, I would like to take elements from his tone (and gear) and make it my own. Since I he is MY favorite sounding bassist I am studying his technique, his philosophies AND his GEAR...

...Hopefully, we will eliminate any 'obvious' comments concerning anything other than his gear. Let's have serious discuss of how to construct a poor man's AJ/audiophile rig.

Maybe we could even discuss some misconceptions and aids when considering an audiophile rig such as this.
  2. alexclaber

alexclaber Commercial User

Jun 19, 2001
    Brighton, UK
    Director - Barefaced Ltd
    My best budget suggestion would be an Avalon U5 into Stewart World 1.2 into Acme Low-B2.

I do like AJ's ethos regarding amps - getting all the extraneous colouration out of the way really helps you get inside the tone of your bass.

3. Yamarc

Yamarc Supporting Member

Jun 25, 2002
    Northville, MI
    Anyone have any experience with the FMR RNP. Seems like a poor man's alternative to a these high end mic pre that AJ uses....
  4. Bassart1

Bassart1 Guest

Jun 26, 2003
    +1 Avalon U5 / Stewart / EA
    (Crown) (Accugroove)
    (QSC) (Acme)
  5. Lyle Caldwell

Lyle Caldwell

Sep 7, 2004
    The RNP is outstanding for bass. Highly recommended. That and the Speck EQ into a QSC or Stewart power amp will get you very close, assuming your fingers are up to the task.
  6. jokerjkny

Jan 19, 2002
    NY / NJ / PA