1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Poor Man's Meyer

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Yamarc, Apr 5, 2006.

1. Yamarc

Yamarc Supporting Member

Jun 25, 2002
    Okemos, MI
    Meyer cabs are way out of my range, I specifically like the power speaker/monitors...anybody know a cheaper alternative that sound sorta similar?

2. pickles

pickles Gold Supporting Member

Mar 23, 2000
    Ventura, CA
    Meyer cabs are pretty much PA cabs right? So I'd be looking at normal-person priced PA gear.

3. WalterBush

WalterBush

Feb 27, 2005
    Yuma, Az
    Full disclosure, I'm a certified Fender technician working in a music store that carries Fender, Yamaha, and Ibanez products among others.
    Check www.apogeesound.com

There's really nothing much that's going to satisfy your Meyer Sound cravings, though. Standard PA gear isn't going to cut it, and the high end from any company ain't cheap. Just less expensive.

4. vision

vision It's all about the groove!

Feb 25, 2005
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Endorsing Artist: MTD Basses, La Bella Strings, and 64 Audio IEMs
    They are hardly "poor man's" cabs, but the new Bergantino IP series cabs are a much less expensive alternative to the Meyer cabs...they are powered bass cabs with DSP front ends...

5. seamonkey

seamonkey

Aug 6, 2004
  6. tombowlus

tombowlus If it sounds good, it is good Gold Supporting Member

Apr 3, 2003
    Fremont, Ohio
    Editor-in-Chief, Bass Gear Magazine
    Agreed, the Bergantino IP series are the less expensive, but still majorly kick-butt, alternative to the Meyer powered cabs.

Tom.