Poor right hand pinky

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by SSINTENSE, Feb 4, 2009.

1. SSINTENSE

SSINTENSE

Jun 6, 2005
    So my bass teacher wants me to play bass with all 4 fingers like a real man rather than 2 because the ability to do so would balance out my right hand and make playing with 3 a million times easier.

So I learned how to use my wrist to help my pinky out and this technique is evolving to the point where I use the right fleshy side of my pinky to sound the note (and thus in my rolls my wrist does a somewhat circular motion).

First question - Anyone here play with 4 fingers? I'm also thinking about incorporating the thumb slap with the 4 fingers to make things more versatile. Please tell me your experiences and what you are able to do with this technique.

Second question - Worst blister ever on the right side of my pinky. I haven't had a blister since I started playing bass about 5 years ago. What are some tips to take away the pain or blister so I can play with no pain? Right now i'm just playing through it waiting for that callous to develop.

2. SSINTENSE

SSINTENSE

Jun 6, 2005
    Yea. The goal is for me to play with pick and other three fingers. He just wants me to play with my pinky for now because that strength will make everything else so much easier.

3. SSINTENSE

SSINTENSE

Jun 6, 2005
    But yea its interesting how there are so many different ways to approach the bass. I kind of ignored it when I started a few years ago but realized that there are so many different tones and feels you can achieve by just the approach.

4. ysand

ysand

Mar 26, 2005
    Athens/Greece
    My advice: Get a new teacher

5. +1... what the hell...?

6. Silas Martinez

Silas Martinez

Jan 17, 2007
    Denver, CO
    Umm... I'll agree unless this is one of those things driven somehow by student request. That doesn't seem clear to me.