1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. Welcome Back!  Please see this thread for more info about the site outage.  Thank you for your patience as we work out bugs and tweak server configs.

Popping, Thumping, Warbling - She Canna Take Much More Of This, Captain!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Bigpig, Sep 15, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Bigpig

Bigpig

Oct 9, 2015
    So anyway, I've been using an Ampeg B115 for about 12 years now, and until this year, I never had any issues with it. However, there are two things that surfaced just this year that I've noticed while practicing one major, one minor.

Major - Big-time speaker popping and thudding, apparently out of nowhere. It's comparable to the sound that you get when you're plugging in your bass to an amp that's already on, but worse. This will happen two or three times in ten seconds, and then stop. Then, after the "***?!?!?!" has cleared, it'll do it again in three to five minutes. It seems to stop after about 20 minutes of continuous amp use.

Caveat - I live in an old house, with some crappy wiring, and prior to this, I have noticed that a couple of circuits upstairs will produce a similar big THUMP! when somebody throws certain switches. This is worse, though, like somebody's jammed a screwdriver into the wires to give them a stir.

Minor - an increasingly noticeable warble in tone, whether I have the stomp box on or off. It's not dreadful, but it definitely catches my ear, and if I can hear it, plenty of others likely can as well.

Now what? Change the fuse? Better power strip? New amp? New house? I realize that after 12+ years, even amplifiers break down, but was hoping to keep this one going for a while yet.

Any advice appreciated - thanks!

2. blubass

blubass

Aug 3, 2007
    Modesto Ca