1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

pops rosin

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by Gary Way, Jun 8, 2007.

1. Gary Way

Gary Way

Jun 8, 2007
    Hi I'm Really new to double bass. I have been playing electric for 25 yrs. Anyway my question concerns getting the rosin on the bow hair,:crying: I can't get it to stick. The rosin is really hard and if I warm it it goes like syrup and clumps. Any advice would be very helpful at this piont.
    Thanks Gary

2. What are you doing to try to get it to stick??? How new is the bow hair? Is the Pops still in the little plastic box? Reason I wonder is Pops not sticking is like a skunk not stinking. Describe exactly what you are doing and maybe we can help. Is the bow hair real horse hair? There's a lot we need to know. We did have someone once whose Pop's was hard. But is not that common.

3. Gary Way

Gary Way

Jun 8, 2007
    Thanks for the reply. Could you please explain the correct proccedure. I am probably doing it in correct.
    Thanks
    Gary.

4. Basschair

Basschair .............. Supporting Member

Feb 5, 2004
    Stockton, Ca
    Take the Pops rosin out of the red plastic container.
    Fold/pull back the white paper wrap so that an edge of rosin is exposed.
    Pull your bow's hair across the rosin edge (like you're pulling it across a string). Apply presssure as you pull, and pull at a moderate/fast speed, from frog to tip.

With Pops, you should only have to do this a few times. If the hair is absolutely new, then perhaps 4 or 5 times. If the hair is synthetic, then you've got me...

5. I read somewhere on here that someone takes a couple of swipes on the bass to warm up the hair before applying the rosin as well. This works for me.

6. Gary Way

Gary Way

Jun 8, 2007