Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Popular big amps in the '80s and '90s?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BillyB_from_LZ, Feb 27, 2003.

1. BillyB_from_LZ

BillyB_from_LZ Supporting Member

Sep 7, 2000
    Chicago
    I started playing bass in 1974 but put it aside from about '81 to '99.

As a teen I dreamed of owning an SVT, Acoustic 371, Sunn Colliseum or a Marshall Major (with two 4x15 cabinets). When I started playing again, Ampeg was still here (or in reality had returned) but there were all these "new-fangled" companies like SWR, Eden, etc. that I had never heard of.

What were the big amps of choice through the '80s and '90s?

2. when i first became a player (meaning when i really got into it, all aspects), it was the early 90's and bands like Pearl Jam and Soundgarden and Primus were the big "musicians" bands. So the popular gear reflected that.

In my neck of the woods it was either SWR if you had a lot of cash or Hartke if you were a bit more budget conscious (Hartke was hardly cheap back then!:)). Marshall solid states were cheap on the used market, as well as crate and Peavey. Eden had no presence in Dallas then, that I was aware of. Believe it or not, Ampegs were non-existant in my world then.

Strange how things have changed so much and yet remained the same, right?

3. Johnny BoomBoom

Johnny BoomBoom Supporting Member

Jun 8, 2001
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I guess the 80's saw the birth of Trace Elliot, whihc became fairly big during that decade. They managed to see themselves into the 90's too I guess - up until last year, when the Gibson corporate monster gave the brand an uncertain future!

I still love my Trace rig!

4. GFOS

GFOS

Dec 27, 2002
    Athens, Alabama