portable battery based amps

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by brutuscheezcake, Nov 8, 2003.

1. brutuscheezcake

brutuscheezcake Supporting Member

Nov 8, 2003
    Bodega Bay
    hey guys!

i am wondering if anyone has experince with any battery based amps like the new crate TXB50 or anything like it? i think pignose made one as well.

i play alot of jazz duo casuals and have really wanted to be ultimately portable and small. not having to rely on AC would greatly ease locational requirements. i do end up playing outdoors a fair amount.

any experiences or thought on the subject?

2. nonsqtr

nonsqtr The emperor has no clothes!

Aug 29, 2003
    Burbank CA USA
    Hi brutus, I have some experience with the Pignose models (but not the Crate). The classic Pignose runs off AA batteries, but the bigger ones have internal rechargeable batteries (some of which are pretty hefty). The problem is that it's hard to get exact replacements when they finally wear out. And I'm not sure about using them for bass purposes, most of them are pretty low power (they have to be to get decent uptime off a rechargeable). If you're playing outdoors, you probably need a decent size amp (right?), unless it's on the patio of a coffee house or some such thing. What kind of music do you play? BTW, did you sell that junior Kay?h
  3. brutuscheezcake

brutuscheezcake Supporting Member

Nov 8, 2003
    Bodega Bay
    thanks for the reply!

the amp would be mostly for lite jazzuals. a few sets of standards. nothing to taxing, nor loud. cocktail music. yup. the great american songbook. i work a duo with a professor from USC.

yeah, its strictly for that because there is just no way a battery amp could do my other gigs.

on the bass, the M3 was picked up by the buyer within 2 hours of purchase. gotta love ebay!

4. notanaggie

notanaggie Guest

Sep 30, 2003
    The Crates use rechargeable gel-cells, and I have heard they go a long time on a charge. Sound OK, might be perfect for you.