Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Porting my bassman 2x15

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BassGreaser, Nov 19, 2004.

1. BassGreaser

BassGreaser

Aug 22, 2002
    Austin, TX
    I have an old sealed Fender Bassman 2x15 that I want to put ports in. How do I go about finding how many, and how long to make the port tubes?

2. If I remember correctly, my old Bassman 2x15 IS ported. Only instead of the round ports seen nowadays, it's shelf-ported, with a thin wide opening at the bottom of the front.

Of course, I'm no expert on the evolution of their 2x15's, so it's possible you do indeed have a sealed cab.

Regardless, though, you don't just add ports for the heck of it. The port size and length is calculated to "tune" the cabinet to a specific frequency. If the cab and speakers were correctly matched to start with, arbitrarily adding ports (or changing speakers) will almost certainly have a detrimental effect on your cab's performance. In addition...If the cab is sealed and the speakers were selected for a sealed cab, adding ports (thereby making this a vented cab) will allow the speakers to experience more excursion. This is not a good thing, they may exceed their design parameters (especially if they're old) and could be severely harmed...

3. BassGreaser

BassGreaser

Aug 22, 2002
    Austin, TX
    mine is the sealed type. I was planning on upgrading to newer speakers as well

4. Raven

Raven

Nov 14, 2004
    Jacksonville, Fl