Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Portrait of Tracy

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by whiteshadow, Mar 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. whiteshadow

whiteshadow

Jul 3, 2001
    Ohio
    This might be in the wrong forum, and if that's true, I'm sorry, but here goes. When did you decide to conquer the song Portrait of Tracy, or better yet, when in your progression as a musician feel capable of taking on that song? Thanks a lot.

2. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    I learned it about 2 years ago, I had been playing bass for a 3 years at the time and I had never heard jaco, I finally got a hold of his debut and got to hear the infamous portrait of tracy(which I had heard about but never actually heard) When I first heard it I was pretty blown away, I Immediately tried to figure it out, and after poking around with all the natural harmonics, once I started to feel comfortable with them that is, I sat down and pounded it out. It didn't take too long at all too figure out the song, but the last harmonic chord eluded me for quite sometime, I posted here in frustration a couple times about it, and even when I learned what the notes were, It was still difficult to play, but I eventually got it under my fingers, and feel very comfortable with the song. It's a great tune to learn because it really opens up the possibilities of natural harmonics, I think that was the single most important song I've learned to improve my harmonic technique.

My guitarist buddy learned how to play it on guitar, which is pretty neat, seeing as how natural harmonics take a lot more finesse to sound out on a guitar, particularly those inbetween fret subdivisions. But Guitars have it easy on that final chord, since the top two strings have two of the notes used available as natural harmonics.

3. Aaron

Aaron

Jun 2, 2001