Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Positioning

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by Mark Wilson, Mar 6, 2005.

1. Mark Wilson

Mark Wilson Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jan 12, 2005
    Toronto, Ontario
    Endorsing Artist: Elixir® Strings
    I'm not sure if I'm supposed to post here, but...

I recently started playing the upright bass through the school. I'm having trouble with the intonation. I was wondering if someone would be able to draw a diagram? On paint of something, on where the frets WOULD be, as if it were an electric. It would help a great deal, especially with my intonation.

Orange_jello_bassist@hotmail.com

Thanks!

-Mark

2. LM Bass

LM Bass

Jul 19, 2002
    Vancouver, BC
    Get thee to a teacher!

Seriously, double bass is different in so many ways.
    If you call your local musician's association or university music program you can find out who teaches double bass in your area. If you're on a budget, see if you can study with some graduate students.

Best regards, and enjoy the big bass!
    LM

3. Best way is have a teacher show you.

You can find E, A, D, G all over the fingerboard by comparison to the open strings.

If you want to work it out the method below will give you approximate positions but read the posts about the 'perils of fingerboard markings'

Very roughly the next semitone along the neck is just over an 18th of the distance to the bridge of the previous one. Measure the distance from nut to bridge and divide it by 17.8, that's roughly where the F on the E-string will be. Measure from the F to the bridge and divide again, that's the distance from F to F#.

Like I said a very rough approximation.

Rob