Possible Alembic eBay-fraud??

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Kaspar Vadsholt, Jul 20, 2009.

  1. I saw this gorgeous Series II bass listed on the 'Bay for a bin price of 1100,00 $!! However, the seller requested I contacted him pr. email. When I did, he removed the listing.
    He claims everything is fine and well, and if I'm interested, (which I am!)he requsts that I give him my full name
    and shipping adress.
    He will then "start the deal with eBay".
    When I asked about Paypal and safety, the reply was:
    "yes is safety....If you are ready to make the deal let me know your full name and shipping address and i'll start the deal with eBay ."

    Smells funny, or what?

    Any advice is very welcome,

  2. bongomania

    bongomania Supporting Member Commercial User

    Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    Total fraud. Run away! Seriously.
  3. J. Crawford

    J. Crawford Supporting Member

    Feb 15, 2008
    Yup, yup.
  4. Stickk


    Sep 2, 2008
    A Series II for 1,100? Think about it.
  5. Gotta agree there. Sometimes stuff is too good to be true.
  6. Dark Horse

    Dark Horse Supporting Member

    Jul 31, 2008
    Austin, TX
    This guy hijacks Ebay accounts and lists tons of vintage and desirable things pretty much every week in an attempt to get a few "suckers". It's an old scam. Next time you see one of these, look at his other auctions. He'll have a ton of them and they'll all be desirable things at the "too good to be true" price of either $1100 or $1200, and every auction will tell you "don't bid, but contact him" at some Yahoo or Hotmail email address instead.
  7. I ran across a similar situation on Ebay with a seller who had several auctions listed for basses. I was interested in a Fender Jazz at the time and his auction said to contact him before bidding or he'd remove my bid. Contacted him thru Ebay and he said he'd do a buy it now using Paypal. I reported him to Ebay and they pulled his auctions off. I noticed later that he was back under a different user i.d. Don't know if this is the same guy, but it sure smells like it...
  8. Handyman


    Sep 4, 2007
    Austin, TX
    This is a text book EBay scam. Just walk away.
  9. alembic76407


    Apr 29, 2004
    if your looking for an Alembic, you should go to the Alembic Club site at Alembic.com, they show up there from time to time from club members
  10. Thanks. Yeah it didn't seem right, but it hit my soft spot. A chance to get an Alembic for a poor guy like me. I'll walk away. fast.
  11. pkmoor


    Jun 4, 2009
    Maple Glen, PA
    Ask if you can pay extra and have him forward the extra to a 3rd party - point out that you are of Nigerian royalty
  12. Haha
  13. DeanT

    DeanT Send lawyers, guns and money...

    You can't remove a listing then "start the deal with eBay." This is a scam.