Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Possible to buy an S-1 switch?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by lustreking, Sep 22, 2005.

1. I'm interested in adding a series/parallel switch to my Jazz bass, and I was wondering if Fender's S-1 switch is available for purchase anywhere.

Unfortunately, I need a 3pdt switch because I have a master volume pot and a blend, rather than 2 volumes. It looks like the S-1 should fit the deal.

I did a bit of searching online but didn't turn anything up.

Thanks,

-Steve

2. Lyle Caldwell

Lyle Caldwell

Sep 7, 2004
    Memphis
    Only through Ebay and the occasional FS post here. It's not for sale through Fender dealers.

But yes, it will work great for your application.

3. You could replace your volume pot with a pot/dpdt switch combination. I have one installed in a P-bass that I use for bypassing the tone control. I bought it from Jack Read several years ago but I think he used to get them from AllParts.

Rick B.

4. Lyle Caldwell

Lyle Caldwell

Sep 7, 2004
    Memphis
    But to do Series/Parallel with a Blend Bypass for Series mode, you have to have a 3PDT switch, which no one offers in a push/pull pot. Except Fender's S-1 (actually a 4PDT switch).

Here's the schematic you need, btw:

[​IMG]

The .047uf cap is what I use - you can use .022uf if you prefer. The yellow rectangle there is a resistor I plan on putting in to keep the series volume the same as the parallel volume, but you can just use a straight wire in place of it (getting a little more ouput in series mode).

5. Thanks! That schematic will definitely save a lot of time if I ever find one. I've looked on ebay before and there are a couple complete strat wiring harnesses with the S-1, but they seem to be going for $60-$70! Ouch.

Thanks Again!
    -S

6. Lyle Caldwell

Lyle Caldwell

Sep 7, 2004
    Memphis