Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Possibly the dumbest question ever on this forum

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by pdq90, Jul 31, 2003.

1. pdq90

pdq90

Jul 26, 2003
    Okay, I've been playing bass for about 3 years and plan on starting to play out this fall....this may seem pointless, but its been bugging me a lot when ive been watching live music videos lately....i play with a pick, but generally stay tight around the string to ensure accuracy, how do some bass players pick almost like its a guitar, do they mute the strings they're not trying to hit, because theres no way they can only hit one string the way they're playing...when i pick with a bass i tend to just use my wrist, but ive been watching these guys play wider out along the strings and using their elbows.....does anyone know what i mean and does anyone know how they do this without getting a cluttered sound?

2. Thor

Thor Moderator Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

There are no dumb questions on technique, except the ones you don't ask...

In order to get a good sound with a pick, it is important to work on your right hand picking technique. I use both finger and picking techniques in my playing. Both belong in the toolbox. I have also played 12 string guitar as long as the bass and the key to picking the bass is the same as every guitar, you have to practice picking accurately.

Here is a simple exercise:

Pick open
    E - D - A - G
    repeat.
    Play each one a a quarter note.
    When you have it, speed up the tempo.

What you are doing here is picking the E with a downstroke, the D with a upstroke, the A with a down stroke, the G with an upstroke.

Do this until you master it.

Then do this:

Play a E chord with the open E, your index finger on the seventh fret of the A string, and the other 2 fingers at the ninth fret, so that the NOTES sounding are E, E, B, E.