Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

posture/stance question

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by spots, Jun 9, 2004.

1. spots

spots

Feb 7, 2004
    boston, MA
    DB beginner here...
    I've been playing upright for about 2 months and the stance aspect still bothers me. Uptil about 2 days ago, i had always stood with the bass's side leaning on me, with the nut at about eyebrow level. This worked well for pizz and for starting out. But i recently started work with the bow (german) and immediately ran into trouble. I couldn't play the E string at all without slamming my wrist into my hip.
    Also about two days I got Rufus Reid's "The Evolving Bassist", which advocated leaning the bass with the inside of the left knee as a contact point on the back and the side of the lower abdoment with the side of the bass. I've been trying to switch to this "style" but I find the transition difficult. For one, I can't balance the bass at all in this position, which leads me to grip the neck with my thumb. I also get fatigued pretty quickly in my right foot, which holds alot of my weight while playing. Anyone got any tips for stance or balancing the bass? Is it just something that will eventually click? or am i doing something wrong? :help:

2. jgbass

jgbass Guest

Dec 17, 2003
    I am no expert on this subject, but, if possible, I think it would be well worth it to check out this kind of thing with a teacher. What may work for one person, may not be best for another.