1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

(potentially) Dumb Question: Buy a cheap bass for the body?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Moley13, Jun 2, 2014.

1. Hi there,

I'm thinking about putting together a fretless, around a Mighty Mite neck.

Simple question: I can buy a no-name (well, they have names, but not ones I recognise) bass with the pickup configuration I want for $50 - $80 second hand. What advantage would there be to buying a more expensive "parts" body, when I could just tear apart a cheapy for one?

Let's assume, for argument's sake, that the actual wood is the same species (although that's another argument/question). Unless of course that is the answer - no cheapies are made of proper wood.

2. jonathanhughes

jonathanhughes Supporting Member

Jan 3, 2009
    Buffalo, NY
    I'm no expert, but I'd think the neck joint could be an issue. Assuming the Mighty Mite neck is Fender style, if the neck joint on the body is some other size or configuration, it could be more trouble that it's worth.

SanDiegoHarry likes this.
  3. The bodies I'd be looking at are Fender rip-offs, and I'd eyeball the bolts to see if they're roughly the same. Beyond that, I guess I'd just have to see!

4. neckdive

neckdive

Oct 11, 2013
    You may not find a giant difference in the bodies, particularly if the species and weight is the same, but the hardware on a cheapo might not give you the sound and feel you're after.

The fretless neck will likely feel and sound great but the pups, bridge, controls and even the cap value might sound and feel cheap or thin. So then you may find the urge to upgrade these parts in the future which will effectively negate buying the cheapo in the first place.

5. I've already got parts hanging around :) Just need a body and a neck!

6. mike77rios

mike77rios

Oct 28, 2012