Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Power amp and preamp, or combo???

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by lildrgn, Sep 16, 2002.

1. lildrgn

lildrgn

Jul 11, 2000
    Seattle, WA
    Hi,

I'm in a situation where I might be getting some new gear. Is there a difference (besides weight and size) in getting a combo head vs. a power amp and preamp?

I like the Ashdown EVO-900 a lot, but I've also seen their other setups. What do the "pros" at TB recommend?

TIA

Gwon

2. gnome01

gnome01

Oct 30, 2001
    Bronx NY, USA
    I'm actually new to this setup - I had just gotten an SWR SM400s from the bass palace, but it died so I took it back - the only comparable setup they had for me to exchange it for was a Samson S700 power amp and an Alembic F2-B preamp. Aside from the preamp needing a repair, and a blown speaker (oh when does it end :( ), the actual sound is great. The preamp is in stereo too so I can set 2 separate eq's for each speaker cab.

3. Lildrgn --- I just switched from an Ampeg SVT 3pro to an F2-B Alembic with a Crown CE1000 poweramp. This gives me 1100 watts rms into 4ohms running bridged mono. The sound is incredible !! I love my Ampeg , but I'm starting to come to the realization that all the bells & whistles associated with the big name amplifiers don't necessarily translate into tone. My new rig is very simple ( but heavy !! ) and I have yet to hear an "all in one " setup that beats it , regardless of price !! One piece of advice -- if you are mounting your components in a rack , plug the power amp in a seperate outlet from the rest of the components. If you plug it into a power conditioner , etc , your output will be DRASTICALLY compromised , and also cause damage to the amp. Good Luck ...

4. FunkySpoo

FunkySpoo Supporting Member

Feb 6, 2002