1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Power Amp Setup

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by silva_aquila, Jan 19, 2008.

1. silva_aquila

silva_aquila

Nov 22, 2007
    Hi All, I am new to talkbass, and bass in general, but I have been playing guitar for 5 years. I am in the process of looking for a bass rig for using mainly at church in a setup with a full band including a loud drummer. Running through the PA is not an option. Since I will only being playing bass once or twice a month, and playing guitar most of the time, I have a limited budget in the area of bass gear. I would like to boost this budget by getting gear that can be used for other things. I am also looking for a PA system so I thought perhaps I could buy one power amp and use it for the PA system, and when neccesary pair it with a cabinet to be used as my bass amp. Would this be a good setup? would I be sacrificing to much in tone and features by going that way? I figure that later down the road I could add a preamp, more cabinets, and a dedicated amp only for bass, but if I do not go this route I will end up with only around $250 for a bass amp. My budget for a power amp and cabinet would be in the range of $500.

Sorry for the length and thanks in advance for the replies.:)

2. Nick Kay

Nick Kay

Jul 26, 2007
    Toronto, Ontario
    Buy a regular PA power-amp, a regular PA sub, a regular PA top, and run a Sansamp into it. It'll make for a very passable bass rig, and you'll have a head start on your PA system. There's nothing that bass cabs do that PA cabs can't do.

3. A9X

A9X

Dec 27, 2003
    Australia
    I agree with Nick. I use and have used for some time, PA power amps for my bass rig, currently a Yamaha P7000S.