Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Power Amp Suggestions?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by camerondye, Jan 8, 2001.

1. camerondye

camerondye

Nov 7, 2000
    I am new to using a separate pre-amp and power-amp but am really interested in it. How much does the power-amp color your tone? Are there any good suggestions of power amps with a good amount of power and reliability?

2. lowfreqguy

lowfreqguy

Oct 18, 2000
    The idea is that the power amp should not color the tone much or at all. For reliable, inexpensive power amps try the FR series made by Mackie. A 1400 watt three space amp retails for around $525 new and $400 used. The model is the 1400i FR. Happy hunting.

3. timorr74

timorr74

Jan 8, 2001
    I just bought a PV 1200 and it works great. It also has a great warranty and i bought it for about $480. I was goin to buy the mackie except the place kept runnin out of them. They also cost a little more. The cheapest ive seen them is $550 @ mars music.

4. alembicbones

alembicbones

Nov 10, 2000
    Seattle, WA
    In concert with your preamp thread, I've run an Alembic F-1X preamp into a Stewart World 1.2 power amp then to an Eden D410T 8 ohm cab for about 3 years now and I love it. It's delivered solid service from recording, to small venue gigs to large venue gigs. Stewart also has the World 1.6 and the World 2.1 if you want more beef. The Eden WT-1000 also looks like another really nice power amp.

Good luck,

Bones

5. I'm quite happy with my Crown K2 power amp. Very powerful, extremely quiet, and very good sounding.

6. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    Carvin has some power amps with some high ratings (I heard they were pretty inefficient, though). You can get a 600 watt amp for somewhere in the $300 range. I can't tell you about quality, but that's really cheap for the amount of wattage.

7. trailertrash