Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Power-Amp vs. Pre-Amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by GreyBeard, Oct 31, 2002.

1. pre-amp

34 vote(s)
    91.9%
  2. power-amp

1 vote(s)
    2.7%
  3. both are equal

2 vote(s)
    5.4%
  1. Which one has more effect on the overall tonal balance. Can this be corrected with EQ or is it more. I've been using a Alembic pre-amp for the last 6 years and I've used several different power-amps with it. It always seems to sound pretty much the same to me no matter which power amp I use. I must admit however, that the power amps I've used have been Solid State Analog PA type deals. I haven't used a Power Amp specifically designed for bass or an all tube power amp so my opinion is lacking somewhat in practical experience. What has been your experience?

2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    The poweramp only marginally attributes to the sound, especially when it's solid state.

3. ldiezman

ldiezman

Jul 11, 2001
    Nashville
    yeap what JMX said.. your preamp is going to shape your tone more than you power amp... power amps are to provide transparent power as not to color your tone

4. BFunk

BFunk Supporting Member

Pre-amps obviously color your tone, but power amps play an important role too. I think they contribute a lot to the dynamic response of the amp. When you are playing in a group, dynamics can play an important role in how the bass fits and supports the group's sound.

5. Matthias

Matthias

May 30, 2000
    Vienna, Austria
    As the others said, the power amp should not (and usually does not) colour the sound.
    But from what I've learned here, the quality of the amp, especially of the power supply, has an effect on low end performance and 'tightness' of the sound.

Matthias

6. vanselus

vanselus

Sep 20, 2000
    Boulder, CO
    None