Power Chord Lines

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by TheListPunk, Feb 2, 2002.

1. TheListPunk

TheListPunk Guest

Feb 2, 2002
    Topeka, Kansas
    I play around with my friend who plays guitar a lot and we've written 5 songs but so far I've only been using root notes and lead notes for basslines. All he plays is power chords and I don't really know any other way to write a good line. Could any of you give me some good tips for writing a good punk bassline? Thanks in advance.

2. <font face=courier>Try doing a fast walking line, such as Fat Mike from NOFX. In some songs, he just does a quick quarter note walking line that sounds very cool.</font>
  3. Listen to "Detroit" by Rancid. If you're doing something a bit slower, listen to Radio Havanna or Journey to the End of the East Bay
  4. TheListPunk

TheListPunk Guest

Feb 2, 2002
    Topeka, Kansas
    Could you explain this walking line to me maybe just a little better. I'm new to bass and just an unskilled punk rocker so try to help me out.

Thanks for replying guys it is greatly appreciated.

thinks he'll stick around for awhile
  5. TheListPunk

TheListPunk Guest

Feb 2, 2002
    Topeka, Kansas
    I want to know how they can make up those basslines out of power chords. Do they just use scales or what? I want to be able to write like that but just don't know how to go about doing it.

6. Shumph

Aug 25, 2001
    On the move
    The probably use a combo of chord tones, scales and leading tones to make the walking lines.

Start your line by using chord tones the add flavor to it by mixing in some notes from the scale. Then you can play with adding leading tones to your line. Remember lead tones are usually only a half step from the note they are leading to i.e. f# to g.

Hope this helped

7. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

I suggest listening to both Green Day and The Offspring for good punk basslines that are more than just roots, yet don't get too complicated.