Power Junkies- lab.gruppen Amps

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by SuperDuck, Oct 17, 2002.

1. SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    I've never heard of lab.gruppen amps before this month. Apparantly they haven't been available in America long, or won't be for a little bit. The fP 6400 is lab.gruppens flagship amp. (Or, at least, their biggest one.) The specs:

2 x 2300W @4 ohms, 2 x 3200W @2 ohms, 10 kg (22lbs)

Live Sound Magazine tested the specs, and they all check out, with a flat response.

And, in case you missed it, 22 pounds!!! Yeesh. Sure, these are designed for heavy-duty sound reinforcment, but just picture one of those bad boys driving a line of 8x10s. Now THAT'S a backline.
  2. Superduck,

Labgruppen has been a well respected brand of amplifiers over here in Europe for quite some time and although I have no first hand experience with them, I hear they are as good as they come.
    For other ridiculous amps, check out the Digam series digital amps by Powersoft...........

Cheers rody
  3. SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Dang, man, Europe gets all the good gear, and all the good cars. Oh well.
  4. Yeah, but we also get to pay twice as much for gear from QSC and the like........

Cheers rOdy
  5. Lab-Gruppen does OEM stuff for some european speaker manufacturers as well. Another European beast is the L'Acoustics LA48. Again 10kg and stupifyingly powerful. 2400W/side at 4 Ohms, I believe. I used 12 of them to power a V-DOSC rig in a 10000 seater with a fairly loud rock band (Blue Rodeo). I never saw an amp go above -20dB all night. that includes the subs and my pants were moving 120ft back at FOH position.
  6. SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Mark Reccord? Never heard of him. ;)

My first thought was "Hey! That ass stole Spacegoat's avatar!"
  7. VicDamone

Jun 25, 2000