Power sag: Fact or fiction?

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by AGCurry, Aug 6, 2022.

1. AGCurry

AGCurry Supporting Member

Jun 29, 2005
    St. Louis
    I played an outdoor gig tonight.
    Four-piece band - drums, bass, two amplified guitars.
    The venue's "house P.A." was three Bose L1 Compact PA units.
    We also had a box fan running, as well as strings of little LED lights above the stage.

Power was supplied to the stage by one 50-foot cord, probably 14 gauge.

About three songs in, the band leader tells me I should turn down, explaining that when I hit strong notes it made his amp sound bad due to voltage sag.

I was playing through my Traynor SB12, and the BL was using a little Fishman acoustic amp. The other guitarist was using a 1000-watt class D powered speaker.

I've been playing for over 50 years, and I've never been asked to turn down for this reason, even when we used Twin Reverbs and Ampeg V4s.

So: Is this "voltage sag" a real thing, or bogus?

DJ Bebop likes this.
  2. It’s probably your volume is overpowering his crappy little amp.

There’s a technical term for it which I’ve forgotten (masking?)…. like when a loud truck drives past and you can’t even hear the person speaking on the phone.

3. I'm sure an engineer will be along shortly, but in the meantime, my vote goes to "this isn't really how voltage sag manifests itself with amps"

According to the google, relevant to this, one thing voltage sag can result from is a sudden change in load, as with a motor starting. For the layperson (such as myself), this seems to create the possibility that whatever it was that your guitarist was experiencing was due to the sudden change in load produced by your big notes.

BUT

In order for that to be true, (very obviously) your "big notes" would have to be creating a sudden change in load of the type and sufficient to cause voltage sag.