1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Power supply to use with Boss, Dunlop and Ashdown?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by davidjackson, Mar 17, 2013.

1. davidjackson

davidjackson

Sep 10, 2011
    UK
    hi guys,

I am new to powering effects pedals but am looking to start building a pedal board. I have a Dunlop MXR87 compressor, an Ashdown Odomoeter tuner and am looking to buy some boss pedals.

The Boss website says the Boss pedals need a Boss power supply, the Dunlop says you need to use a Dunlop power supply. I have done some searches and it sounds like some people are powering both a Dunlop and Boss (and other pedals) with the same unit. When I have tried to dig deeper on other websites I am getting lost in the techie jargon.

Can anybody help?

Thanks.

2. millahh

millahh Supporting Member

Sep 20, 2005
    Hoboken
    Can't speak for the Ashdown, but Boss and Dunlop both take the same power.

3. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    Every pedal brand says to use only their power supply, because (a) they make money selling power supplies, and (b) it avoids a legal liability problem.

The fact is brand has nothing to do with it, and techie jargon has everything to do with it. You have to learn and understand what specific parameters of power are needed, and what is actually provided by each supply.

Conveniently, most pedals accept the exact same power supply as each other. Boss, Dunlop, and Ashdown all take the same power and can use each other's supplies.

But just because that's the convenient majority does not let you off the hook from learning how they all work. ;)

4. blacklariat09

blacklariat09

Jan 6, 2013