practice amp vs small combo

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by danimal1973, Sep 7, 2002.

1. danimal1973

Sep 3, 2002
    Quick question...

I'm a beginning bassist, and would like to pick up a nice amp for possible practice/small gigs.

I currently do not have a practice amp...

Do you think it would be better to pick up a small practice amp, and then bigger combo later when gigs arrive? Or is it better to pick up a decent size combo amp now (and avoid the practice size).

Any rec's on practice amps? (brand/size/features)

My music interests will be classic rock, country, blues.

2. CS

Dec 11, 1999
    If you want to play with others forget the practice amp. Opinion here on what is minimum wattage for a gigging amp ranges from 50-500w. Look for 100-200 watt 1x15 or 2x10 combo's. Try a load and see (hear) what you like.
  3. PeaveyTNT

PeaveyTNT Banned

Jul 21, 2002
    PeaveyTNT.... yes....
  4. Tsal

Jan 28, 2000
    Finland, EU
    For home practice, perhaps you could buy something like Korg Pandora, which is small practice device used with headphones. It's no bigger than MD player and has stuff like tuner, rhythm tracks and effects in it.

For playing with other guys, some larger combo with a 15" and atleast 100w would be good. Crate does some decent inexpensive 100w combo with 15" speaker, and the Peavey TNT is another good choice.