Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Practice for beginners

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by havik180, Oct 13, 2005.

1. havik180

havik180

Oct 9, 2005
    SF bay area
    I've been playing for a few months now (self taught so far) and was wondering if I could get some advice from the more experienced here.

I was wondering what I should focus on most when practicing ? Any drills or songs I should try/do ? I'm mostly looking to better my speed/accuracy/dexterity with my left hand. I play an Ibanez gsr-200 and I notice that some frets I play are buzzy, is it me or possibly the bass ? I try and play very close to the fret but some always buzz.

ANy tips, suggestions, or links are appreciated , so far I really enjoy the bass and this web-site !

Rich

2. Steve Harris Is

Steve Harris Is

Jul 4, 2005
    I have been playing for almost 4 months myself and all I can say is search this forum first of all, there are some excellent resources here.

Secondly, get a teacher, even if you can only see them once a month. They will do wonders for cleaning up your technique and getting you set on the right path. I only see mine once every 6 weeks or so but it makes a world of difference.

My current practice routine is to:

Play the basic Major/Minor/Seventh/Dimininshed, etc chords in at least 6 keys, set to a metronome of 100bpm.

I then move through the main scales in at least 6 keys as well, alternating between smooth, timed (metronome) playing and then just blazing through them to increase speed/dexterity.