1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Practice/Jamming amp advice please?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by GarethP, Jul 12, 2014.

1. GarethP

GarethP

Jul 12, 2014
    Welshpool
    Hey guys and gals,

I'm looking for a bit of advice really. I've been playing bass for about 15 years now but have not played with anyone in a very long time. I currently have a 100w Peavy amp that was previously used for gigging but I want to find something a little smaller that I can use for both practicing on my own and will stand up against jamming with my new band.

I have a fairly modest budget but willing to stretch it a bit for the right thing and I'm looking to buy in the UK.

If anyone has any suggestions or recommendations on an amp that you think will meet my requirements it would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks.

Gareth :thumbsup:

2. 100w Peavey? I wouldn't go with anything less.

3. GarethP

GarethP

Jul 12, 2014
    Welshpool
    Maybe I should state that we wont be practicing that loud and the peavy is far too big and heavy to be lumping round to mates living rooms let alone down the stairs in my house lol. I'm not as young as I once was and gone are the days I used to carry that beast onto busses :laugh:

4. Rattfink

Rattfink

Jan 31, 2014
    Denver,CO USA
    I recently tested out the GK MB112 and was blown away. Its' a 200w combo amp that's only 28lb. I think it's one of the most versatile amps I've ever seen. So small it can be a practace amp, with 200w you can jam/ small gig with it, and you can stack it on 200w power cab for a 400w stack. At only $399 us I think it total rocks. They also make a 500w model if you need something bigger (still only 37lb).

5. GarethP

GarethP

Jul 12, 2014
    Welshpool