1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Practice Log

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by Andy Mopley, Jan 2, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Andy Mopley

Andy Mopley

Sep 24, 2011
    Hi all

seeing that I couldn't quite find what I needed, I have made one up in an Excel format. This is my first time in using a log, so I am going to give it a go for next 6-12 weeks and see what I get out of it, for the time that I can dedicate.
    Note - some of it is borrowed from examples available on line, so not original work.

Any additions, comments, most welcome!

Regards to all

Attached Files:

Whippet likes this.
  2. Whippet

Whippet

Aug 30, 2014
    Thanks for the upload. I was thinking about a practice log but couldn't really figure out how much time to allocate to each category. How did you come up with the time?

I feel like I'm just wasting time trying to perfect some new material and end up memorizing the song by ear and not by reading the notes, and that takes almost all of my daily practice. I don't even get to arpegio and scales on a daily base.

Anyway thanks for the upload, it helps me immensely to come up with some sort of order in daily practice.

3. Andy Mopley

Andy Mopley

Sep 24, 2011
    I worked on a hierarchy of weaknesses and allocated time accordingly. It is not set in stone, and may change as I work my way along. To your point, it is about structuring practice time so you make the best use of it. The additional points are there to remind me of what to look for, during practice.

Regards

Whippet likes this.
  4. Whippet

Whippet

Aug 30, 2014
    Thank you for the reply and additional information. It makes me re-evaluate how I spend my one hour. Thank god I was able to stop noodling around with the drum machine, it was so easy to just waste half an hour doing nothing but zoning out.