Practice makes perfect!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Swerve, Nov 23, 2002.

1. Swerve

Nov 22, 2002
    Portland, Oregon
    I was wondering how many hours a day do the people here at Talkbass practice. I try to get no less than 4 hours each day.
  2. deadweeds

Oct 28, 2002
    Harbor Beach,MI
    Hi there...I just started playing a month ago and honestly play about 2 hours a day and have seen dramatic improvement in my playing since that time..if I'm not practicing I'm usually here learning more little by little and then putting that knowledge when I do practice

3. kirbywrx

kirbywrx formerly James Hetfield

Jul 27, 2000
    Melbourne, Australia.
    I usually say to myself "right im going to warm up by playing 4 or 5 songs from this CD", so i normally spend about 2 hours playing all the songs on that CD :rolleyes:

When im not doing that, i think i usually improvise, practise and yeah, about 2- 2 and a half hours a day?
  4. Erlendur Már

Erlendur Már

May 24, 2000
    I'm not sure..Now I usually start practicing 4-4:30 pm, after work, and I practice to..about 19:30. Except, I eat usually at 6 o'clock, and then I lose 10 - 15 minutes.
  5. jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    It's not the quantity of practice, it's the quality of practice time.
  6. I play atleast 6hrs a day (sometimes up to 10 when my fingers and back can handle it). But only about 4 of that is intended to push my proficiency further, the rest is noodling around and writing music for my solo CD. (or just staring at the top on my roscoe haha :D)
  7. BlacksHole

Mar 22, 2000
    Rockville, MD
    Practice does not make Perfect. It makes Permanent. I.e., bad practice habits can lead to bad habits that are hard to break.
  8. moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    In other words, you don't do very much practice :D
  9. Well, shouldn't developing good habits be one of the objectives behind practicing??