Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

PRACTICE / SMALL COMBOS

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by MODNY, Mar 14, 2005.

1. MODNY

MODNY Guest

Nov 9, 2004
    Hey Ladies and GEnts

i'm looking to acquire a small 1 12 combo. something that i can play my 5 string basses, and possibly my upright bass

what should i be looking at?
    heres what i am thinking about

genz benz somethinsomething

phil jones bbriefcase

ebs drome

swr baby blue 2

personally, i wouldn't mind having a small 12 cabinet, and 300 watt amplifier, and fund permitting, i might go that way

let me know what u guys think

2. 57pbass

57pbass Supporting Member

I have been using a GK MB 150E for many years...
    I recently replaced the speaker with a GK replacement speaker ....

Pros
    It sounds good..not great but its the perfect amp for rehearsals..
    small gigs ..
    it weighs 22 lbs....
    its reliable..you can hook up extension speakers or turn off the internal speaker and drive a seperate cab 150 w @ 4 ohms...
    has some nice features....
    you can go direct to the house PA
    great for upright

Cons
    They are pricey new...
    Sound on a scale of 1 - 10 - 10 the highest I would give it a 7.5
    I recall reading about some issues with the new model on here on Talkbass..
    dont se them used too often..

late edit to my post.. there are many great choices out there..I also own the Scout Combo and its in a different league from the GK. I have used the Walkabout head with other cabs and its all good..

3. tombowlus

tombowlus If it sounds good, it is good Gold Supporting Member

Apr 3, 2003
    North central Ohio
    Editor-in-Chief, Bass Gear Magazine