1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Practice Suggestions for Old Dog

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Basslice, Nov 4, 2020.

1. Basslice

Basslice Supporting Member

May 11, 2008
    Western Massachusetts
    I have been playing for over 30 years. I jumped right in and started learning songs and gigging. I have never taken a single lesson. I cannot read - other than charts. I have a great ear, but my technique has never been anything that any fellow bass player would say was top-chops. I get the job done and do it well. But I cheat a lot. I dumb down basslines of covers all the time (I am also the lead singer so I feel I have to). I have many hundreds of songs committed to memory.

During COvid I built a little practice/recording studio. I have been playing more (time-wise) than I was pre-2020. I am wondering if anyone had suggestions for practice routines. Other than my first year or two, I never really practiced in terms of technique - just rehearsals and learning new songs.

Is it possible for an old dog to learn new tricks? Like maybe not having to dumb down basslines and runs? My musical styles and likes are all over the place, but I like old R&R and old - real country (not new country). I also like blues, but have pretty much figured out all the walking lines so that I don't have to think about them. My solo stuff is fairly jazzy.

Also, my fretting and finger-picking are harsh. I dig hard and slam the pickups and don't have the greatest fretting/muting techniques. I have learned that a lot of slop gets covered over in a real gig, but at home solo I can hear it.

Thanks in advance.

CallMeAl and Reedt2000 like this.
  2. Reedt2000

Reedt2000 Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2017
    Central New Jersey