1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Practice Suggestions

Discussion in 'Ask Patrick Neher [Archive]' started by Cosmos, Mar 2, 2008.

1. Cosmos

Cosmos

Sep 21, 2006
    New York, NY
    Dear Mr. Neher,

How are you doing?

I'm a university student double majoring in music history/theory and physics (astrophysics, it looks like these days). I'm also a serious bass player studying with a great bass teacher at another university (my school doesn't have a performance program).

Because I'm at a tough university, I don't have a lot of practice time. I can usually get in around 2 hours a day, but that's not as much as students at conservatories get. Still, I really want to be able to keep up with conservatory students. I want to keep on getting better at bass, and be able to take part in the top summer music festivals.

The trouble I'm running into, is that I'm not really sure how to maximize the productivity of my small amount of practice time so that I can get done a lot in a small amount of time so that I can be a competitive bassist and not sacrifice the quality of my schoolwork.

Do you have any suggestions regarding how to make the most of a small amount of practice time?

Thank you very much for your time!

2. PNeher

PNeher

Mar 31, 2005
    Bellingham, WA
    Hi!