Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Practicing by playing covers?

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by Bezo, Aug 27, 2004.

1. Bezo

Bezo

Aug 10, 2004
    I have never tried to learn, transcribe, or play a cover. Of course I've played some of my fovorite riffs, but never full songs.

I'm self taught(I'll be starting lessons in a couple of weeks) and have been learning by studying theory and writing my own music.

Things have been going well, but I wonder if learning other songs would speed my progress. And I wonder if it's common to learn covers when you take lessons.

Any thoughts?

2. Juneau

Juneau

Jul 15, 2004
    Dallas, TX.
    I learned a lot of little tricks and things here and there by learning covers. Im also self taught until just recently. I always liked to pick something that was too hard to play for me and then work at it until I can play it. Each one of those built me up a little higher in my skill level and I was able to apply the things I learned to my own material.

Just my 2cents there.

3. thewanderer24

thewanderer24

Apr 29, 2002
    SJ, CA
    Most self taught people I know have the opposite problem - we learn everything from listening and playing along. It's a great way to develop your ear, learn to play lots of songs, learn feel, and lots more, but it tends to leave a lot of basic skills (like rhythm, reading, and harmony knowledge) undeveloped.

I played for years before getting a teacher.

The one thing learning to play other people's lines will give you is fresh ideas to approach different styles and chord changes. Everyone plays differently, so the more different lines of other people you absorb, the more ideas you can get from it all. Having the theory knowledge only helps, and the teacher will be able to give you some guidance on what to focus on.

4. supermonkey

supermonkey

Mar 15, 2004
    Atlanta, GA