Practicing for an Audition -- advice wanted!

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by junglebike, Feb 14, 2003.

1. junglebike

junglebike Supporting Member

Feb 14, 2003
    San Diego, CA
    Hi guys!

Been reading through some of the archived stuff on practice routines. Maybe you can help out with my specific case:

I've been playing guitar for 2 yrs, but have a long classical training background in violin and piano. Been playing fretless bass ferociously, but only for about 3 months :bassist:

So I'm finding bassists are in much higher demand than guitarists!!! These guys want me to audition for them on tuesday:

Holiday and the Adventure Pop Collective

I saw their show, met them, and have a CD of theirs with 20 songs, and chord/lyric sheets. Been listening to it constantly, playing along, etc.

Their songs are mellow, simple major/minor stuff. Keys, acoustic guitar, electric, drums, harmony vox. The bass will not be featured prominently, it'll round out the sound.

What would you guys suggest doing to prepare for the audition? Could you suggest some practice routines that will turn me into a useful addition to this group?

Thanks in advance!
  2. junglebike

Feb 14, 2003
    San Diego, CA
  3. cant help you with advice.

just a bump'it'up :)
  4. Howard K

Howard K

Feb 14, 2002
    work out your lines and stick to them.
    dont try to improvise to much.
    keep everything real simple
    if they have lines already written, stick to them like glue - that shows an appreciation for their work, rather than a sort of 'i know better' attitude.

you've only been playing fretless for 3 months?
    how's your intonation? - i guess if you can intonate correctly on a violin it must be ok!
    but if you have any problems intonating on fretless, then get hold of a fretted and take that instead!

be nice
    be polite
    dont take the gig unless you really want it!

good luck :)
  5. wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK