Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Practicing for the new DB player

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by blarpgh, Aug 15, 2005.

1. Greetings all,
    I've been perusing this site for a while and have some great information from people who really seem to give a crap. Good to see on a forum. Okay, I've been playing bass for 24 years. 15 years ago I played DB for a year and then went back to electric mostly because I missed it and felt there was much more I needed to do on electric and splitting time just would've made both suffer. So here I am playing DB again. I bought one 4 1/2 months ago. My instrument is not top of the line or even middle of the road but it's what I could afford. Some would say I should've waited to get a better bass but I would've been waiting for some time before being able to buy one and I wanted to start playing now.

Okay, on to my question. I've always been good with practicing and using my time wisely to get done what I need to get done but I'm flying solo on this so far and would like advice on optimizing my time to get the most out of it. The advantage I have is that the instrument was not totally foreign to me having played it for a year even if it was 15 years ago. I don't have incredible amounts of time. We're talking 2 hours a day, sometimes 2 1/2. I believe some good work could be done with this amount of time if it is used wisely. What I've been doing is 1/2 hour running scales, 1/2 hour arco technique, 1 hour going over whatever music I am working on. If I get more time, it is usually spent bowing as I have a real need to get better at that.