Practicing in an apartment

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Lovebown, Nov 4, 2002.

1. Lovebown

Jan 6, 2001
    Hey all
    Here's my scenario, I just started playing double bass and have been able to practice at any time and at "any" volume (unamplified) pretty much. Problem is I'm moving into an apartment fairly soon. What can I do to "mute" the bass, or prevent the sound from going through to other flats as much??

2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    I usually talk to my neighbors, tell them about my noisiness and find out when the noise is least likely to bother them. I also give them my phone number and tell them to call me if I'm getting on their nerves. I've found that the general rule of thumb to follow is 10am-10pm is noisy time. This might not work if you live above an insomniac that works 3rd shift.

I haven't gotten a call yet.
  3. Lovebown

Jan 6, 2001
    Ok thanks a lot... I'll look into all that.

4. Or, find yourself an Electric Upright Bass and a pair of headphones.
  5. thrash_jazz

Jan 11, 2002
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Artist: JAF Basses, Circle K Strings
    I live in an apartment, and I haven't had any problems as of yet. The best thing is to be careful about when you practice. When it's late, I find that to be the best time to work on mezzo piano!

Great tips though Ray. Thank you, I may need them!
  6. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    The whole idea, and this works on a lot of levels in life, is to put a face on the enemy, in this case, you.
  7. Mike A

Mike A Supporting Member

Oct 3, 2002
    Now... this is just a suggestion. Keep in mind that I don't own or play an URB, but common sense says...

Try resting the endpin (is that the correct term?) on something that will cushion it (rubber block or similar - I've seen people stick a work boot under it, looks like the URB is standing on one foot.)